Here's What You Need To Know About Florida PIP Insurance Read Count : 41

Category : Blogs

Sub Category : Miscellaneous

Table of Contents

  1. You Must Maintain PIP Coverage
  2. What Happens When an Accident Occurs?
  3. When PIP is Not Enough
Florida, like many states, struggle with the rising problem of traffic accidents. In accidents throughout the state, more than 200,000 people are seriously injured on a yearly basis. Those traffic accidents also result in over 2,000 fatalities each year. In addition to the injuries and deaths these accidents cause, they also result in extreme financial burdens for those involved in them. Before you hire a Boca Raton car accident attorney, it's important to understand how Florida laws affect your ability to seek damages.

You Must Maintain PIP Coverage

As a driver in the state of Florida, you're required to maintain a PIP policy, which stands for personal injury protection. The policy you maintain must have provide at least $10,000 in coverage, though many insurance companies will let you buy more protection. This policy is intended to cover you, other drivers, and any passengers or pedestrians involved in the accident.

What Happens When an Accident Occurs?

Before you call a Boca Raton car accident attorney, you should be aware that the Florida PIP statutes won't allow you to file a claim against the other driver even if he is at fault. Florida is also a no-fault state, which means your own PIP insurance policy is required to cover you for your damages. This means you must first file a claim with your own insurance provider.

When PIP is Not Enough

In most cases, the $10,000 PIP coverage you maintain should be sufficient. Unfortunately, it may only cover 80% of your medical care costs and 60% of wages you lost as a result of the accident. The laws in Florida do allow for you to hire a car accident attorney and sue for additional damages, but only under certain circumstances. The law outlines the types of injuries you must suffer in order to sue for damages. In general, you must have suffered a broken bone, an injury that affected the use of a body part or bodily function, or you must have suffered a permanent and significant disability. Regardless of the nature of your injuries, you should always consult a car accident attorney after an accident. The initial consultation will be free of charge and will help you determine the best course of action for you to take. Your attorney can help guide you through the claims process and negotiate for a fair settlement from your PIP insurance provider. If you do need to sue for damages, your lawyer will already be familiar with your case, so you can save time in filing your suit.

Resources and References

1. 2.


  • No Comments
Log Out?

Are you sure you want to log out?